A Reason to Begin Again

Almost a year ago, I decided to embark on my first blog.  I had watched many of my friends go abroad and after following their adventures, I knew I had to add my own blogging updates to the Internet while I was away at Hertford College, Oxford University.  The experience was fantastic.  I still do not think I have perfected the form of the blog post, but I loved learning this new form of writing.

Last time when I started my blog, I gave a long explanation for my title.  I feel that names are important.  Although reading postmodern novels this past semester such as Thomas Pynchon’s The Crying of Lot 49 has made me realize that names don’t always function as meaningful symbols, I still consider them important.  In this case, “Gladly Beyond” was not simply chosen to express that my old blog has taken on a new form (although WordPress did force me to make a name change in the first place).  Those are the last two words to one of my favorite poems, e. e. cummings’ “somewhere i have never travelled, gladly beyond,” which was also the inspiration and title of my first play, “somewhere never travelled.”  In taking my blog to the so-called next level, I want to remember to draw from myself, from the things that inspire me and drive my passions.

Program Cover for Martel College’s 2011 Production of “somewhere never travelled” (Photo Credit: Claire Morice)

As I prepare in the next year to travel “gladly beyond” the hedges of Rice University, I especially want to keep this motto in mind.

Note: For those of you still following from the original Austin ~ Austen or those of you who would like to see how I began, I will be carrying over all the meaningful posts to this new blog.  Gladly Beyond Austin Austen marks a new beginning, but in the process I do not want to forget my past.

About austinausten88

Playwright in love with Classic films, afternoon tea, and Noel Coward. She recently graduated from Rice University. In the fall, she will be exchanging her English major undergraduate status for that of Theatre & Performance Studies graduate student.
This entry was posted in Beginnings and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

