Trial Run for European Traveling (Otherwise known as Family Vacation)

Originally posted July 23, 2011.

I am a very lucky person.  Not only am I studying abroad at Oxford for all of next fall, but I am going on a two week European vacation with my family.  And we’re leaving tomorrow.

It’s my second time going to Europe.  The first time we did a pretty basic tour: London, Paris, Venice, Florence, and Rome.  It was a sort of congratulation for my high school graduation.  I loved it because I had dreamed of going to those cities since I started reading about them in fourth grade.  When we used to watch movies that were set in those countries, I could tell my family about all the landmarks. Unfortunately for them, that made me extra annoying when we actually travelled to those countries.  It was an awesome trip, but it definitely tested our familial bonds.  Especially on the Capitoline Hill in Rome …

This trip is going to be a little different.  For one thing, it’s technically my sister’s trip since she just graduated from high school.  And this time, I don’t know quite as much about these cities or their histories. Last time, I had five to ten museums, churches, national landmarks that I wanted to see in every city.  This year I didn’t have quite as much to contribute to the itinerary.  I do want to see the Anne Frank house, Van Gogh’s museum, Vermeer paintings, biergartens, Cinderella Castle,Sound of Music landmarks in Salzberg, and Kafka-related sites in Prague, but besides that, it’s going to be an adventure into the unknown.  And I’m a little more nervous about getting along with my family this year.  I love them, but we don’t live together for most of the year anymore.  I guess I’ll just have to do what I did two years ago: pretend that it’s The Amazing Race and if I blow up and yell at everyone, then I’ll ruin our chances for winning and I’ll be embarrassed on national television.  Sounds silly, but it’s surprisingly effective.

On a sad note, I’m not bringing my cellphone or my laptop so there’s no way that I’ll surely be able to post.  My dad is bringing his laptop, but it’s for work.  Hopefully I’ll be able to post at least once or twice.  If not, I’m keeping a travel journal and I’ll be able to post A LOT when I get back.

So wish me luck for getting through many airports, catching trains, dealing with my family.  Oh yeah, and for finishing my packing.

Me at the Franz Kafka Museum in Prague.

About austinausten88

Playwright in love with Classic films, afternoon tea, and Noel Coward. She recently graduated from Rice University. In the fall, she will be exchanging her English major undergraduate status for that of Theatre & Performance Studies graduate student.
This entry was posted in Austin ~ Austen and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

