The Perfect Day Trip for a Theatre Geek

Instead of spending four full days in Munich, my family and I took advantage of the rental car to take some day trips out of the city.  Now, I wish I could say I had thought of this one first, but I must give all the credit to my sister.  We woke up early on the morning of our second day in Munich to drive to Salzburg … for The Official Sound of Music Tour.

The Sound of Music was an important part of my childhood.  I remember watching it with my sister and my grandma.  One morning, the whole family watched it while my dad made palacinka (Czech version of pancakes) for breakfast.  My sister and I used to fight over who got to “be” Marta or Gretl.  Since I came to college, I’ve been even more involved with theater, especially musicals, so it makes perfect sense that the most popular musical movie adaptation should still be part of my life.  I have found that as I’ve gotten older, “I Have Confidence” still helps me get over any of my own self-doubting moments.

The tour definitely lived up to the name.  First of all, the bus has Maria and the seven children painted on the side of it.  The tour guides all wear traditional costumes.  Plus, the bus driver could yodel.  And if that wasn’t enough, we listened to the entire soundtrack.  Yes, that’s right: it was a sing-along tour, too.  I can happily report that the entire family was singing.  We’re not the Von Trapp family by any stretch, but we gave it our best effort.  While on the tour, we saw practically all the outdoor filming locations (they filmed all the interiors on a lot in Hollywood): the back of the Von Trapp house, the gate/lane where Maria sang “I Have Confidence,” the cathedral where Maria and Captain Von Trapp were married, the gazebo from “Sixteen Going On Seventeen,” the abbey, and my favorite part, the gardens from “Do-Re-Mi.”  I could have danced around in those gardens all day.  Well, except that it was cold and there were way too many other tourists in my way.

Besides the tour, I loved just visiting Austria.  It was gorgeous.  I couldn’t stop taking pictures of the mountains.  My camera battery died so I started taking some pictures with my mom’s camera, but none of them do the views justice.  I can’t imagine how beautiful it must look on a sunny day because we had to fight gray cloud cover for our entire trip.  I would love to spend a week or two hiking around Mondsee (town by the lake, where the cathedral is located).  Plus, did you know the guy who invented Redbull is Austrian?  And he lives in the country near Salzburg?  My dad might want to work in Munich, but I think he should get a job in Salzburg.  I’d rather go visit him there and take the Sound of Music tour again.

About austinausten88

Playwright in love with Classic films, afternoon tea, and Noel Coward. She recently graduated from Rice University. In the fall, she will be exchanging her English major undergraduate status for that of Theatre & Performance Studies graduate student.
This entry was posted in Austin ~ Austen and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

