Lessons from Desperate Housewives?

I’m not usually one for Desperate Housewives.  My parents watched it when it premiered and one of my college roommates followed it during my freshman year, but I have never kept up with it or cared much about the plight of the mad (and madly rich) surburban wives and their antics.  But since it was Mother’s Day and my mom wanted to watch the series finale, I joined her on Sunday night.

I didn’t expect to learn anything from it, but much to my surprise . . .

Last week I felt a little bummed about my summer so far and the prospects of the remaining school-free days.  I was down on myself for not getting enough work done.  And every time I logged onto Facebook or met up with a friend, I heard of yet another person traveling abroad this summer.  Guatemala, Ecuador, Paris.  Or those going to bigger metropolises within the country: New York, San Francisco, Washington D.C.  I felt stuck here in Austin, only looking forward to Houston in June and July.

But, when I take it out of this negative lens, I have a fantastic summer ahead of me.  I’m not working retail or fast food.  I’ll be in Houston with more of my friends from Rice.  I’m making great progress on my new play; I tried last summer and I kept stumbling along, but now the deadlines are working to push the work forward.  Right now I’m working at a law firm doing office work and in June I start an internship that is going to challenge me in every way, but from which I know I will grow exponentially.

And this is where Desperate Housewives comes in.  One of the husband’s accused his wife, Lynette, of always searching for the next thing and never being happy.  She brushed him off at first, but later, when she was making her speech as Matron of Honor, Lynette admitted that she had been searching for happiness in some distant future instead of valuing the happiness surrounding her.  That’s what I am trying to do now.  I could compare my summer plans and my life plans to everyone else, or I could learn to see the beauty and growth possible in what I already have.  I want to be successful and push myself to succeed, but I don’t to redefine it so often that I am never content.

In other words, I’m embracing my summer plans for what they are.  I went to see The Avengers (FINALLY) last night with friends.  It was a step in the right direction.  Review to follow soon!

About austinausten88

Playwright in love with Classic films, afternoon tea, and Noel Coward. She recently graduated from Rice University. In the fall, she will be exchanging her English major undergraduate status for that of Theatre & Performance Studies graduate student.
This entry was posted in Beginnings and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

