Note to Self: Feel the Fear and Do It Anyway

The last part of that title comes from a leadership camp I attended in middle school. Some of its advice has become dated and not as useful over the years, or it has slipped from my consciousness. But today this piece of advice comes back to help/haunt me.

When I let tasks hang over my head, they only become more dreadful to complete. But when I do them, they become easier and slowly disappear to allow other, hopefully more enjoyable tasks take their place.

I keep looking for a short cut, but I have a feeling there really isn’t one. It’s just a matter of facing the things you would rather procrastinate and make the conscious decision to avoid that twisted path for a straightforward one.

This is yet another gem I would like to keep in mind this summer. And next fall when I begin the end of my undergraduate career.

About austinausten88

Playwright in love with Classic films, afternoon tea, and Noel Coward. She recently graduated from Rice University. In the fall, she will be exchanging her English major undergraduate status for that of Theatre & Performance Studies graduate student.
This entry was posted in Beginnings and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

