Shakespeare: He Wrote a Lot of Plays and Salvaged My Monday

Originally posted September 26, 2011.

After my crazy weekend in Paris, I had a very sleepy start to Monday.  I expected to get up early and visit a few more museums, but I couldn’t quite get my body to cooperate.  At first, I woke up at 7:30 because my clock was still on Paris time.  I thought I’d go back to sleep for another hour, but I ended up sleeping in until 10 am and not getting up and properly dressed until almost 1 pm.  I felt bad about it at first.  For heavens sake I’m in London!  Why should I be missing everything by sleeping away the day and watching horrible TV drama, and American TV drama at that?  But, my sleepy morning did allow me to finish the last three blog posts.  Plus I finally allowed my body to heal itself from the horrible cold that I had ignored for the past three days.

When I left at 2 o’clock from the flat, I thought the day was still lost. But after I found the British Library, I didn’t have a second thought for my laziness.  The display they have there made up for everything.  Not only do they have a copy of the Magna Carta, but they have bunches of important documents.  I loved seeing the Beatles manuscripts.  I had to squeeze in to see the display because it was always crowded but it was worth it.  They had the napkin with the original lyrics for “Yesterday” and the birthday card which has the lyrics of “A Hard Day’s Night” scribbled on the back (John Lennon wrote it on the back of his son Kevin’s first birthday card). I was the most excited about the Jane Austen articles.  They had one of her journals and one of her writing desks!  I didn’t expect to see them there so it was a great surprise.  Of course they had lots of Shakespeare documents, an original King James Bible, a Virginia Woolf manuscript of Mrs. Dalloway, and an original manuscript of Jane Eyre.

When I was in the library, I took advantage of the free wifi to check on tickets for the Globe.  As it turns out, the only performance left was for that night, the 7:30 Much Ado About Nothing.  After being lazy for half the day, I knew that I couldn’t miss this opportunity.  I was hoping that my London/Rice friends would come with me, but when it started raining on the way back from dinner.  But I was determined. Thankfully, it stopped raining when we emerged from the tube station and it remained free and clear all the rest of the night.  The show was amazing.  Hopefully you’ll all be able to read more about it when (and if) my article is published in the Rice Standard.  I’ll make sure to post a link or re-post it here.

About austinausten88

Playwright in love with Classic films, afternoon tea, and Noel Coward. She recently graduated from Rice University. In the fall, she will be exchanging her English major undergraduate status for that of Theatre & Performance Studies graduate student.
This entry was posted in Austin ~ Austen and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

