Back at Home, Back at Rice

Today I moved back to Rice campus for the summer.  I have never lived here during the summer and I have never lived in Brown tower, but it feels like coming home.  After I came back from study abroad, I came back to classes on campus, but I didn’t move into a room on campus.  It was not the same.  Now I have my own room and, best of all, I have my bright blue cruiser bike for riding around campus.  More than anything, that makes this home once again.

Martel College Quad.

Martel College. My true home.

Although I am nervous about starting my internship tomorrow, the mosquitos may be biting with a vengeance this summer, the Houston wet heat may already annoy me, it feels a little deserted on campus, and I’m still sunburnt from a family beach to Galveston this weekend, I’m glad to return back to Rice University once again.

About austinausten88

Playwright in love with Classic films, afternoon tea, and Noel Coward. She recently graduated from Rice University. In the fall, she will be exchanging her English major undergraduate status for that of Theatre & Performance Studies graduate student.
This entry was posted in Beginnings and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

