An Academic Ending

Originally posted December 1, 2011.

I finished my last tutorial at Oxford just a little under an hour ago.  In some ways, I want to shout for joy because there will be no more 500 pg novels to read in three days, no more 2000 word (which for me end up as 3500 words) essays to write in the remaining days of the week, no more waking up early to sit in the library all day.  But on the other hand, I’m incredibly sad.  While I may claim to hate those things at times, I really do like them.  Oxford wouldn’t have been worth it if I hadn’t chosen to study the subject I’m passionate about and if it hadn’t challenged me every single day.  Plus, since tutorials are over, it means that my term has really come to a close.  At the end of the week all my friends will be leaving and even though I get to go to Belgium first, it means that my return to the States is quickly approaching, too.

I know that I should be working on my own writing or enjoying the beautiful city while I still can, but I can’t help looking back on pictures from this semester, scrolling through all the different events and all the different places I experienced in these past two months.  I know I will still have regrets when I get home, that I didn’t go to enough lectures, that I could’ve read more, that I could’ve traveled more, but in the end, I have learned so much and I know that I will remember this term for a long, long time.

I will continue to post on this blog about my last fews day in Oxford and about my crazy choir adventures in Belgium, but the writing won’t stop there.  Originally I started this blog just to record my semester abroad and to help keep my friends and family at home updated.  Now I think I will adapt my original goal and find new things to write about, especially since I want to now keep my British friends updated with my writing and my life back in Texas!

About austinausten88

Playwright in love with Classic films, afternoon tea, and Noel Coward. She recently graduated from Rice University. In the fall, she will be exchanging her English major undergraduate status for that of Theatre & Performance Studies graduate student.
This entry was posted in Austin ~ Austen and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

