Beyond a Cafe Review: Empire Cafe

Empire Cafe Sign

After my cafe review last week, one of my Rice friends suggested that I visit Empire Cafe. Then when I met a friend at Black Hole to talk over some club leadership projects, he also suggested this place.  Little did I know that it  would be right across from last week’s stop, Agora . . . But that was okay.  My goal is to try new coffee shops and this was another step toward that goal.

That being said, I still didn’t order coffee while I was there.  Instead, I had this:

Tollhouse Nestle Crunch Cake

I knew that I should have tried one of their many drinks, but I felt like treating myself to dessert.  Plus everyone I spoke to said something about the cakes.  After the first bite, I didn’t care about the “haters” anymore.  It was delicious.  Think yellow cake, but as soon as you get a taste of the icing, it’s like a combination of cake and cookie dough.  Besides this, I just ordered water.  I’m a college student on a small internship stipend and the cake alone was decadent enough for one Saturday.

Despite the fact that I could see Agora from inside Empire Cafe, the two shops aren’t very similar.  One big plus for Empire: they have their own parking lot.  I appreciated not having to walk a mile from the only street parking I could find, like last week.  But this place wasn’t as great for studying.  It’s more of a lunch/brunch place.  I ended up way back in a dark corner of the shop.  But I think next time I’ll have to sit outside; it looks like an entirely different experience.  They had a huge covered patio.

Empire Cafe's covered patio

See? Lots of space out here.

I didn’t end up meeting any random, nice strangers this week, but my friend Mary stopped by on her lunch break.  I was so glad to see her!  Things lined up perfectly for once. Besides that, I chipped away on my slice of Tollhouse Nestle Crunch cake and wrote a few scenes for my play.

If nothing else, I love going to cafes because they make me write, read, and involve myself in the world.  Thanks for the suggestion, lovely Rice friend.  Let me know if anyone has more suggestions; I still have plenty of Saturday afternoons left.

About austinausten88

Playwright in love with Classic films, afternoon tea, and Noel Coward. She recently graduated from Rice University. In the fall, she will be exchanging her English major undergraduate status for that of Theatre & Performance Studies graduate student.
This entry was posted in Reviews and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

