Welcome Home, World Traveller!

Originally posted January 3, 2012.

It’s been a great winter break.  I enjoyed vegging out on my couch for the first two days, sort of fighting and sort of enjoying the effects of jet lag.  It was the first time I’d ever really experienced jet lag.  I don’t think that sitting on the runway for two extra hours after landing in San Antonio helped …  Going to cheer on my high school at their fifth state championship football game was fun, too.  Mostly I enjoyed comparing the Texan culture that I’ve known for over half my life with the British and European cultures I’d been experiencing for the past three months. Although, I must say the Texas accent grated on me for a while.  I loved hanging out with my family for Christmas.  Because this was the first fall where both my sister and I had been away, my mom went crazy with the decorations in our house.  I walked into my bedroom to find it covered with snowflakes.  We made out with some cool Christmas loot like coffee makers and Toms, but I must say hanging out with the family definitely meant more this year.  I’m glad that I went bowling in Belgium because it made me slightly more prepared for the family showdown on Christmas day.

My New Year’s celebration definitely helped start off 2012 on the right foot.  Mostly, I spent at least four hours on New Year’s Eve playing either The Michael Jackson Experience or Just Dance on the Wii.  And that helped me work off the rest of the Belgian desserts … Just after the ball dropped, I watched Captain America with my friends.  I suppose that also helped me set the tone for the New Year.  Sadly, my wallet probably isn’t going to allow for much more world traveling this year so I should get into the American spirit again.

For now I’m thankful for all the life experiences and friends I found while abroad, but I am also excited to reunite with my friends at Rice and truly see how Oxford changed me.

About austinausten88

Playwright in love with Classic films, afternoon tea, and Noel Coward. She recently graduated from Rice University. In the fall, she will be exchanging her English major undergraduate status for that of Theatre & Performance Studies graduate student.
This entry was posted in Austin ~ Austen and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

