Taking a Blogging Break for Tea and Writing

For the first time since finishing high school, I am looking at my last few weeks of summer and thinking, “There’s not enough time.”  There hasn’t been enough time to keep up with this blog or my personal writing goals.  I’m wondering if there will be enough time to see all my Austin friends before I leave for my senior year.  Usually at this point I’m bored out of my mind.  It’s a nice change to have had a busy summer where I pushed myself in my leadership class and internship, but I’m missing some of my recharge/personal project time.

Thankfully I had a plan to relax once I got back to Austin.  I was missing the UK and one custom in particular: afternoon tea.  So, I hosted my own tea party.  It started off with homemade scones.

And then continued with dressing up and a gorgeous table.  I’m so grateful that my mom and her friend could gather together such a striking yellow tea set and table setting for our afternoon.

The best part: I introduced some of my best American friends to tea drinking.  I showed them how to put lots of milk in it this time, so there’s still a ways to go, but I feel proud that I could bring this tradition back with me to the UK and not only give myself a relaxing afternoon, but share it with some old friends.

 

Unfortunately, it is now time to get back to work.  I have a play to write, senior thesis reading to do, application essays to write, and a literary magazine to begin planning.  I love blogging, but I promise when I return, I will have many more exciting life stories to share.  Maybe even my own traveling stories once again.

 

About austinausten88

Playwright in love with Classic films, afternoon tea, and Noel Coward. She recently graduated from Rice University. In the fall, she will be exchanging her English major undergraduate status for that of Theatre & Performance Studies graduate student.
This entry was posted in Beginnings and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Taking a Blogging Break for Tea and Writing

  1. Do you have any favorite teas you could recommend? I would like to give tea another shot, since I haven’t tried it in several years. 🙂

    • I love a lot of the blends on Adagio teas. I just got Mycroft’s blend for my birthday and it’s a good dessert tea. But if you really want to get into “hard-core” tea drinking, get a basic black tea and put lots of milk in it to start out.

      I’m so glad that I’m going to continue spreading the tea love!

Leave a Reply

