Word of the Year?

A few days ago I came upon the idea of a new sort of New Year’s Resolution. It comes from Alece Ronzino and her blog, One Word 365. I’ve had problems with new year’s resolutions in the past. Not that I haven’t made, failed, or regretted any that I’ve made, but more that as a student for most of my life, I just didn’t find any reason to look at the new year as an important transition; all my important life thresholds occurred in Mays and Septembers. This year though I have been looking for something new to associate with this year, 2014.

I had a lot of time to think over the winter break at home in Texas. Sometimes I think it was too much time and at other times I am glad I spent so much time reflecting, just for my own self. Either way, it has left me looking at Canada, York, my life, and my future with a new perspective–yet again. I suppose that’s just what happens at this post-grad, young stage in my life. So much is changing and so thankfully (and sometimes frustratingly) it means my view on reality and the world is also in flux. I could continue to fight this constant change or instead admit that it’s hard for me and move on. I could remember the lesson about headstands that my new yoga studio has already taught me: it’s good to radically take charge and change your own perspective. And finally, I use this knowledge and advice to work on finding other ways to focus and stabilize what’s at the center: me. I don’t want to be selfish or self-centered, but it has been pointed out that I am still putting others needs above my own at great personal cost to myself, my happiness, my ability to relax and focus enough to look outward in a more loving, genuine way. And that doesn’t sound like the way I’d like to start my year or continue my time in Toronto. Maybe a word of the year might be the right sort of change.

I’d like to join the tribe, to find my word, and to focus this upcoming year in ways that I can’t enact in terms of career, home, and place just yet. So for once, I’d like to make this blog not just a report but a conversation–it is what I’m learning this semester in some of my performance classes. I have ideas for my word. I have ideas for what wouldn’t work as my mantra for the year.

But if you know me, or even if you don’t know me personally, what word would you suggest for me in 2014?

About austinausten88

Playwright in love with Classic films, afternoon tea, and Noel Coward. She recently graduated from Rice University. In the fall, she will be exchanging her English major undergraduate status for that of Theatre & Performance Studies graduate student.
This entry was posted in Beginnings, Life and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

