inForming Content: Watch My Work

For once, I thought I’d give my blog followers the chance to hear about activity in my life before it happens instead of after the fact.

This weekend I’ll be participating in inForming Content, a theater creation workshop with Volcano Theater and the Jackman Humanities Institute at the University of Toronto. On Friday night, we’ll hear lectures from the scholars at the Jackman Institute. Throughout Saturday and Sunday morning, we’ll work with mentors and other emerging artists to create performances based on those lectures and their themes. The theatre pieces will then be performed on Sunday afternoon at 2:30 pm.

From Volcano Theater Facebook event.

From Volcano Theater Facebook event.

It’s another weekend of lightning fast theatre creation. I suppose it’s what is inspiring to me right now–or at least it’s a great way to make something at this early stage of my career. I’m psyched because unlike Operation 24, I have no idea what to expect or what role I’ll end up playing in my group. Plus it’s my first chance to create site-specific work and while I have been toying with the idea, I haven’t yet had the see much of this genre of work performed–let alone create it.

I hope to see some friendly faces in the audience on Sunday. My traditional recap will likely follow as usual and more details can be found at the Facebook event.

About austinausten88

Playwright in love with Classic films, afternoon tea, and Noel Coward. She recently graduated from Rice University. In the fall, she will be exchanging her English major undergraduate status for that of Theatre & Performance Studies graduate student.
This entry was posted in Theatre Writing and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to inForming Content: Watch My Work

  1. Pingback: Beyond a Book/Film Review: Robert McKee’s Story, The Grand Budapest Hotel, and The English Teacher | gladlybeyondaustinausten

  2. Pingback: After the Call: How do you locate home? at inForming Content | gladlybeyondaustinausten

Leave a Reply

