Getting More Involved: 2014 Nuit Blanche

I decided to take a different strategy for my second Nuit Blanche. No more wading through crowds to imbibe as much art as possible. Instead, I participated in creating one installation for 3 hours. If I could do it again, I would volunteer for longer. It was amazing but it’s best to read this article that my friend and fellow St. Stephen-in-the-Fields parishioner Andre Forget wrote in The Anglican Journal.

For me, this year is about more of these experiences: commitments to community, to making art, deepening relationships, sitting in a space and letting it sink in. Life after graduate school hasn’t been a clear path so far, but taking my time to see what’s just ahead and surrendering to each turn and dead end . . . that’s my next challenge.

(Here’s what last year’s looked like: Up All Night.)

About austinausten88

Playwright in love with Classic films, afternoon tea, and Noel Coward. She recently graduated from Rice University. In the fall, she will be exchanging her English major undergraduate status for that of Theatre & Performance Studies graduate student.
This entry was posted in Life, Theatre Writing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

