Beyond A “Music” Review: Karaoke at Cage 292

Music plays an important role in my life. I’m not an audiophile. I don’t know the new hip bands before everyone else. If you scroll through my posts, you’ll find that although this girl served many years as a band geek in middle and high school, there are no music reviews. I consider myself a cultured person in many ways, but when it comes to music I mainly want pop, top 40 hits, fluffy 80s, peppy disco 70s, and stuff I can sing along with and dance to.

That’s why it really should have been no surprise that I had found yet another welcoming community when a friend invited me to a karaoke contest.

It just so happened that she had invited me to their Disney-themed week. I had a blast and came back the next week . . . and the next. This girl doesn’t stay out late usually on week nights, not even in college did I stay up late (and the one time I did ended with my suite mates and I staggering hung over across campus at 7 am to sign up for Shakespeare in Film, which thankfully was totally worth the effort). But for this contest, I’ve stayed out super late. I’ve danced all night to the other karaoke competitors’ songs and dragged my friends back out onto the dance floor. I have belted out all the backup singer parts (and the lead singer ones because when I don’t have a microphone, who cares?).

I didn't dress up for Halloween, but I did for 70s week!

I didn’t dress up for Halloween, but I did for 70s week!

So when the contest ended, my friends kindly pressured me into signing up. I’m still not there to win, but to have more time each week at the microphone.

What I’ve sung so far:

  • “On the Good Ship Lollipop” by Shirley Temple
  • “Cherish” by Madonna
  • “Mean” by Taylor Swift
  • “Leave the Pieces” by the Wreckers
  • “You Can’t Hurry Love” by the Supremes
  • “Ain’t No Mountain High Enough” by Marvin Gaye and Tammi Terrell
  • “Dancing Queen” by ABBA
  • “I Think I Love You” by The Partridge Family
  • “Bohemian Rhapsody” by Queen (with a whole gaggle up on stage, of course)

Plus a few duets . . .

Karaoke perfectly captures everything I do like about music: the kind of joy that just takes you and makes you dance or scream at the top of your lungs because. I may be exhausted more on the days after, but it’s worth it. As my family likes to remind me, it’s okay to play hard instead of just working hard sometimes.

DSC07665

If you’re free on Tuesdays or Wednesday nights, The Cage 292 is the place to be. We applaud everyone who gets up on stage, no matter what you sing or how you sing it. 80s week is coming up and you know you want to belt some Madonna or Michael Jackson this week. This girl will be.

And this week even when I’ve been away from the The Cage, I’ve been listening to the new Taylor Swift album. It’s made each journey to and from work that much better. It even helped me through a much needed late night screenwriting project. No shame. If you pass me in the TTC with a grin on my face, it’s probably not you (#sorrynotsorry) but “Shake It Off” pumping through my headphones.

About austinausten88

Playwright in love with Classic films, afternoon tea, and Noel Coward. She recently graduated from Rice University. In the fall, she will be exchanging her English major undergraduate status for that of Theatre & Performance Studies graduate student.
This entry was posted in Life, Reviews and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Beyond A “Music” Review: Karaoke at Cage 292

  1. Nancy Sulc says:

    Singing in your bedroom finally pays off… Love it!! 😃

Leave a Reply

