Beyond a Fringe Theatre Review: Starry Notions (Nefarious Productions)

Just barely three days into Fringe and I’m already killing it–especially compared to last year. I’ve traded in the Volunteer t-shirt for media comp tickets as a Mooney on Theatre special Fringe reviewer. It’s the dream, thus far.

Two FringeKids! shows to start off my research on YA theatre and experience a wholly different area of the Fringe. One amazing review, one disturbing review of warning.

Tonight marked the first show I didn’t review–but now that I’m on a roll, I can’t let it pass. Not to mention the amazing Chelsea Manders produced it.

Starry Notions

It also marked new Fringe and performance territory for me: cabaret. It’s not usually what I pick. I used to love musicals, but we have an on-again, off-again relationship and again, one-person shows: where’s the story?

But professional, transparent storytelling is everything that Ryan G. Hinds brought to Starry Notions. I laughed and sung along to as much as I could (not a Canadian, I don’t know your lumber jack songs…). I trusted Ryan to lead me through an emotional roller coaster with his well-timed, enthusiastic trio of super talented musicians (Mark Selby, Julian “Fatsound” Clarke, and Jeff Deegan).

Sorry to my friends at Cage 292 karaoke, but his was the best version of “Poor Unfortunate Souls” I’ve ever seen. And “Dream On” I will thankfully never heard in the same way.

There are so many talented performers and shows in the Annex Theatre alone this year (shout outs to Adventures of a Redheaded Coffeeshop Girl— READ MY REVIEWand what I’ve heard are excellent performances in Meet Cute and The Woolgatherer).

If you failed at Fringe last year (LIKE ME), all hope is not lost. It takes time.

About austinausten88

Playwright in love with Classic films, afternoon tea, and Noel Coward. She recently graduated from Rice University. In the fall, she will be exchanging her English major undergraduate status for that of Theatre & Performance Studies graduate student.
This entry was posted in Reviews, Theatre Writing and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Beyond a Fringe Theatre Review: Starry Notions (Nefarious Productions)

  1. Pingback: One Year Out: Positive Post-Graduate Update | gladlybeyondaustinausten

Leave a Reply

