One Year Out: Positive Post-Graduate Update

I’ve been looking forward to posting this for a few months. Why? Because considering last year by the numbers helped me see the positive, amazing work I did during my graduate program at York University.

I know that most people count the year from January to December, but for me, it still somehow revolves around the end of August and my birthday.

This year, it’s not so much about the numbers, or at least not the same numbers. Quality as opposed to quantity. That said, the final sum shows I still have much to be grateful for this year and even better, even more to look forward to in the next.

So what’s happened in 2014-2015?

  • Served 9 months as a live-in mentor for two adult women with developmental disabilities–learned wicked new skills, built upon new ones as I built this working/living relationship, and realized that EDUCATION might have been part of my path all along
  • Attended two 2 week pop-up residencies in Toronto and Indianapolis (what does that mean? Check out my HowlRound article or check out the Indy Convergence website)
  • Writing assignments for the Shaw Festival, Mooney on Theatre, HowlRound and Scotiabank
  • Script coordinated English language premiere of new play Abyss by Maria Milisavljevic at Tarragon Theatre in January-March 2015
  • Worked on the Literary Managers and Dramaturgs of America Toronto mini-conference and Front of House Managed for two SummerWorks venues
  • I discovered SO many new collaborators and mentors through my support work, my church, my second church, the Toronto Cold Reads, Indy Convergence, Tarragon Theatre, … the list goes on and on.
  • I joined a community garden. I am also trying to raise my own house plant (after last year’s basil debacle.)
  • Selected as one of 6 members of Storefront Theatre’s Playwrights’ Unit— and already finished 2 drafts of my new horror play Raggedy’s Kingdom (for more on my process see this post and my Twitter feed)
  • Conquered fears by finally setting foot back in my Great Aunt Donna’s house after over a decade of terror due to her large collection of antique toys (This is the inspiration for the above-mentioned horror play)

And what’s up for 2015-2016?

Here’s one clue for the fall…

IMG_3677

About austinausten88

Playwright in love with Classic films, afternoon tea, and Noel Coward. She recently graduated from Rice University. In the fall, she will be exchanging her English major undergraduate status for that of Theatre & Performance Studies graduate student.
This entry was posted in Life and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to One Year Out: Positive Post-Graduate Update

  1. Looking forward to being terrified by Raggedy’s Kingdom! Just don’t forget to add Chucky……. 😉

  2. Pingback: Beyond a Book Review: The Great Work of Your Life by Stephen Cope | gladlybeyondaustinausten

Leave a Reply

