Tea from the Source: Tiny Tea Adventures in Taipei (Part 3)

Memory #4 from my first trip to Asia.

Though I didn’t expect climbing Mount Fuji to slow me down to appreciate the present moment, I did expect it from another aspect of Asian culture–tea.

So I made sure time on both the Japan and Taiwan itineraries went towards exploring tea culture.

3) British Afternoon Tea in Taipei & Tea Cuisine

A short nod to two shorter tea times my mom and I squeezed in our Taipei adventures.

Thankfully my mom doesn’t have other friends to go to tea with and used me as an excuse to collect potential afternoon tea indulgences–and then treat me to these indulgences.

DSC09401

The first she found in the basement of the Miramar mall. Pure British export from the fruit and/or royal family patterned teapots to the traditional British afternoon tea trays of Devonshire clotted cream and scones we spotted at the tables surrounding us.

A treat, but an oddly familiar one for a tea shop in Taipei. And we split a waffle… when was the last time you treated yourself to rich tea and a big waffle in the middle of the afternoon?

Apparently no pictures of the waffle we ate with this remain...

Apparently no pictures of the waffle we ate with this remain…

Cha for Tea, a chain for sure, nonetheless felt more exotic with its offerings. We expected just tea based on what we saw from the outside, but what we found was a full restaurant with dumplings, soups, and such–yet all cooked and simmered with tea in the main ingredients.

Tea brewed and steamed into every ingredient.

Tea brewed and steamed into every ingredient.

With two sets of tea mugs in front of us, I dug into green tea noodles with mushrooms and dumplings soaked in so much tea.

I wish I could say it cured the oncoming illness that would strike me down with bronchitis hours later. Cha for Tea’s dishes may not have miraculous healing powers, but I do wish I could eat there on a regular basis. Maybe one day I’ll be closer to Taipei, or they will open a restaurant in North America.

Din Tai Fung had great dumplings, but tea dumplings were still quite a surprise.

Din Tai Fung had great dumplings, but tea dumplings were still quite a surprise.

In the mean time… May all your noodles also contain lots of green tea.

Stay tuned for more tales and memories from my first Asian adventures…

About austinausten88

Playwright in love with Classic films, afternoon tea, and Noel Coward. She recently graduated from Rice University. In the fall, she will be exchanging her English major undergraduate status for that of Theatre & Performance Studies graduate student.
This entry was posted in Life and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

