Send me your art

Dear World:

I’m struggling this year. I thought I’d left the struggle behind at the end of 2016, that the sunshine peeking through this week had cleared it all away. Not so.

I’m in need of lights of art to help me through. To be clear, I’m making my own art: radio plays, new draft of Raggedy’s Kingdom, always research and connections for Transmission, more writing everyday. But I need more in the tank.

What movies, television, and books do you suggest for me at this moment?

They don’t have to be super positive, shallow, only animated or comic in nature. One of my absolute favorite parts of 2017 so far has been reading Seveneves by Neal Stephenson–which starts with the Moon exploding and making the Earth uninhabitable for 5,000 years!

Things I love but cannot watch/read more of at this moment:

  • Black Mirror
  • The Untold History of the United States
  • The Nightingale (books like this about war)

Everyday I look at the news and I die a little. I go to work and face my limits there, overcome them. Drain the batteries and come home to care for myself and do it all over again.

I’m not the only one doing this. I am lucky to be safe, gainfully employed in a supportive workplace, cared for and supported by family both near and abroad.

This phase of history is just one in a constant cycle. It’s not the end of the world. The world as we know it is constantly dying and being reborn as something slightly different.

A few weeks ago, I was tagged to repost more art on Facebook, to fight the constant stream of news. A good idea, but I couldn’t remember to add it there. So I’m adding it here.

Petunias. Georgia O'Keefe painting from 1925.

Petunias. Georgia O’Keefe. 1925.

Either on Facebook, Twitter, responses to this post here, or personal messages, please share your suggestions.

I cannot promise to take you up on every single one, but I will repost to make sure they are shared for all of us. To keep drinking in and turning back out into the greater world.

Thanks, Maggie

 

About austinausten88

Playwright in love with Classic films, afternoon tea, and Noel Coward. She recently graduated from Rice University. In the fall, she will be exchanging her English major undergraduate status for that of Theatre & Performance Studies graduate student.
This entry was posted in Life. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Send me your art

  1. ktlins says:

    Hey Maggie,

    I spent V-day reading some of Leonard Cohen’s poetry at a friend’s Cohen tribute night. This one jumped to mind when reading your post. Short and sweet. It’s called Medecine.

    My medicine
    Has many contrasting flavours.
    Engrossed in, or perplexed by
    The differences between them,
    The patient forgets to suffer.

  2. brigidamos says:

    Last night we watched the film Dreams by director Akira Kurosawa. I haven’t completely digested it enough to tell you why I found it uplifting and inspiring, but I felt very happy afterward, ready to keep on creating.

Leave a Reply

