Purple Preparations

I can’t believe it’s almost here.

After almost three years of preparations, I leave for Edinburgh next week for Transmission at the 2017 Festival Fringe.

You’d think with that much advance notice I’d feel totally ready, but I’m not. It’s been a whirlwind few months of final rehearsals, revisions, and notes. Writing has always been and will always be my job, and though I absolutely LOVE it, it definitely feels like one right now.

My life has been leading up to this big production for so long–and now I’m beginning to worry that it won’t live up to the hype.

So I decided to do something CRAZY that would make it more special…

IMG_2308

Yes, that’s right: I dyed my hair purple.

I never thought I’d want to do something so “artsy” and “unconventional” to my own body. I am usually so cautious and careful (though I did ask my boss for permission). The day after my mom asked with trepidation how I felt, if I was already regretting it.

I told her about the nightmare I had had that night: that I had woken up and it was back to brown. She didn’t question it after that.

My parents also asked if people were staring at me oddly or if it was attracting any unwanted attention. Nope. If anything, I’ve had more co-workers stop by my office this week to say that it’s AWESOME than I have winning any sales contest even…

For being such a shy person in my younger years, I relish the double take and the extra stares now. I’ve always been a purple princess. Now I’m confident enough to wear it proud–just like when I decided to move to Canada and be honest about being an artist at my core.

So even if I don’t sleep again until my birthday and Edinburgh and Transmission are nothing like I expect them to be–at least I’ve got purple hair.

 

*And anyways, since when has theatre ever been what I’ve expected it to be? That’s what good theatre is anyways: surprising.

IMG_2209

 

About austinausten88

Playwright in love with Classic films, afternoon tea, and Noel Coward. She recently graduated from Rice University. In the fall, she will be exchanging her English major undergraduate status for that of Theatre & Performance Studies graduate student.
This entry was posted in Theatre Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

