A Threshold Year, in Review

There’s no one way to categorize or describe my 26th year. Some big things went as planned, others threw me for a complete loop.

Looking back, it went by so fast…

It feels like the culmination of lots of hard work–as a few big projects came to fruition but also, to a close. A beginning and ending at once.

And since it also marked four years since I graduated from Rice and the beginning of my fifth year in Canada, it feels like my “graduation” into the real world. If there ever is such a thing.

  • Traveled to Montreal with my sister at the beginning of the year AND met up with her in her hometown at the end of the year.
  • Survived and thrived through the transition into a full-time sales role
    • Won 6 months straight in an office, instead of cubicle land
    • Made my sales target for the first time, on the first try!
  • Traveled to Edinburgh’s 2017 Festival Fringe for the premiere of Transmission, the culmination of 3 years of labor on my part
  • Saw 25+ shows in addition to Transmission’s 30 separate scenes at said festival

Those were some of the wins. Losses included friends, family, loved ones, plus a sense of belonging in the country of my birth.

It wasn’t a dumpster fire or the best year of my life. It was simply a threshold.

The best part?

I don’t feel like I’m waiting on what happens next. I’m meditating on where I want to be and what I want to make of my future.

 

About austinausten88

Playwright in love with Classic films, afternoon tea, and Noel Coward. She recently graduated from Rice University. In the fall, she will be exchanging her English major undergraduate status for that of Theatre & Performance Studies graduate student.
This entry was posted in Life and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A Threshold Year, in Review

  1. Wow! Congrats on everything you’ve helped to create this year! Keep at it!

Leave a Reply

